When your given lemons…


I recently had an editorial portrait published that has an interesting story. I was contacted for an assignment that involved photographing a local artisan working on some of his jewelry. Ok, no problem, pretty standard stuff. All the art director wanted was a shot of him working on some of his pieces in his workshop. I loaded up the SUV and headed over thinking this would take me all of 30 minutes tops. I even hesitated bringing some of the lighting, thinking that I would just throw on a hotshoe flash on a stand ala “strobist” style and grab something quick. Well, as luck would have it, when I got there the artist informed me that his workshop was in the process of being dismantled so we couldn’t get a shot of him working. Ok, no problem (again), I would just have to think of something quick in lieu of the workshop shot. So we got to talking and it just so happens that he has a particular idea that he would be interested in trying out if I’m game for it. Being the adventurous type, I said sure and the next thing you know I’m photographing him in his bathtub! The shoot lasted over an hour and we got some fantastic images. The moral of the story is always keep an open mind and sometimes the best images will just come to you.

See you next week!