From Soup to Nuts-Superman Part 1

Due to circumstances beyond my, ahem, control (curse you playstation 3!) I’m a day behind on my blog post. So, in the interest of keeping things moving forward I am going to try something a bit different. I have been working on a project now for the past month and I thought it would be interesting to document the whole thing from beginning to end. This will be a multi-part blog-a-thon over the next couple of weeks so stay tuned to get to the final image.
Okay, let’s start at square one. I have come up with this idea of doing a book of editorial portraits of some friends of mine. Each one of these people (and they know who they are!) has a unique characteristic about their personality that would translate really well over to the visual media that we know and love as photography. So, I mentioned this idea to a couple of said friends and the response was luke warm. Hmm, how do I get them more excited about having their picture taken, you ask. Simple, I will take one of myself first! I guess I will need an idea. Well considering that these will be editorial illustrative portraits, it really was a no brainer for me to do something Superman related (for those that don’t know me, I am a huge superman fan, in fact I have a whole bedroom in my house chock full of superman memorabilia.) Ok, so I have an idea, how do I do it. The only way that this was going to work in my eyes was a composite. I wanted something that would look cartoony and distorted and down right fun. So my initial thought was to have me flying through the city up up and away style. Well, once I ran through the logistics of the composite it just wasn’t going to happen. I finally settled on a more classic pose of superman coming out of a phone booth mid wardrobe change only to be discovered by a very surprised Lois lane (more on this later, I told you it would pay to stick around!) So, without further ado, here is the initial sketch

lovely, isn’t it…. Ok, Ok, so it’s not a picasso but it gets the point across. Next week I’ll go over the ins and outs of prop location! See ya then