Just another day at the office…

There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t think “boy, do I love my job.” Thursday was a great example of that. I got an email earlier in the week from a photographer in Missouri who was coming into town to photograph a baseball player. He was looking for an assistant for the day and as luck would have it I was available. They were going to be filming Joba Chamberlain, one of the pitchers for the New York Yankees, for a sports apparel commercial. When I got to the location there was a film crew already setting up and some curious passersby. Our job was to photograph still images of Joba in between takes for the commercial. The whole experience gave me an insight into the world of the celebrity. It seemed every minute of this young man’s life was spoken for in some way or another. We had him from roughly 10:30 till 3:00 and in that time he filmed various segments for the commercial, posed for still photographs both for us and the crew, signed autographs, and met with a group of preteen admirers. The amazing thing to me was that he did all of this with such poise and togetherness, it was really something to take notice of. After we finished the film crew, the photographer, and I went to eat and digest the days experience. Everyone was in agreement that the shoot went off without a hitch and things probably couldn’t have gone any better. I had a great day by meeting new people in the industry, having a minor brush with celebrity, and learning while getting paid to do so.
All in all, not a bad day of work!