From Soup to Nuts-Rainbow Power!!!

So I have had this idea for a long time of doing a photoshoot where it would be raining smiley face balls onto a willing participent while she is under the protection of a very colorful rainbow umbrella. After the initial sketch and production notes were drawn up, I called my trusty assistant Lauren and the wonderful clothing designer Alli Pace to see if they were down with the idea. Both were enthusiastic and were ready to rock n roll. We wanted to cast for a colorful, vibrant looking model that would jive well with the theme. I decided on Miss Jenna from Ohio because her look was unique and I thought she would add that extra special “sumthin” to the overall production. As luck would have it she was available and we set up the shoot for a beautiful day in September. It was a simple two light setup with the camera angle being low to capture Jenna’s expression. What I hadn’t anticipated was how the bouncy balls would look in the final edit. No matter how hard I tried I couldn’t get them to look just right. In the end I ended up scrapping the smiley faces in lieu of a digital rainbow and some illustrated “rainbow brite” power! I really digg the illustrative aspects of this photo, it’s something different that I think I would like to push towards in the future. Tell me whatcha think!