baby cam

So I’m planning a trip to somewhere much warmer than Pittsburgh and I decided it was time to buy a decent point and shoot camera. I bought a point and shoot for my wife the last time we went on vacation and I found the resulting images to be less than stellar (more due to the limitations of the camera than anything else). I knew I didn’t want to lug around my big ol 5D + lens+flash to all the theme parks, so I decided to get something that would still allow me to shoot in Raw and manual modes, just so I wasn’t missing all the functionality.
I ended up with a used Canon G9, mainly because it had all the bells and whistles I was looking for and it was small enough to stow in my pocket. It came yesterday and I’ve been playing with it all day today. So far, I must say I am pleasantly surprised by the image quality. In manual mode, shooting in Raw, between iso 80-400 I can get a decent image with not a lot of noise-even going as low as 2 stops below the exposure and pulling it back in through my Raw editor. So far so good, I’ll share some of the images from the vacation when I get back.