How do you “make it” in any business?

Vodpod videos no longer available.

[id=bkaldorf options[theme]=sidebar4_white tag_id=latest title=bkaldorf%27s+videos]
check in around 54:10 for the quote!

Being relatively new to the photography industry, (I’ve spent many a year in my past life designing interiors for a big unnamed drug store) I often wonder if I should be doing this or that differently.  Sometimes I can really get myself worked up into a tizzy wondering what the magic formula might be for being successful and “making it” in this business.  Should I be focusing more on networking? Style? Marketing?  It’s enough to drive a person insane!

When i get like this I step away from the computer, take a deep breath, and read back my favorite quote of all time (thanks to Chase Jarvis for illuminating me on it!)which I have framed hanging on my wall;

Be undeniably good.  When people ask me how do you make it in show business or whatever, what I always tell them and nobody ever takes note of it ‘cuz it’s not the answer they wanted to hear–what they want to hear is here’s how you get an agent, here’s how you write a script, here’s how you do this — but I always say, “Be so good they can’t ignore you.”  If somebody’s thinking, “How can I be really good?”, people are going to come to you.  It’s much easier doing it that way thena going to cocktail parties.

Comedian Steve Martin

Sometimes it really is that simple.