Strictly Business 3, Day 2-Part 1

On Saturday we were up bright and early at 7:00 to partake in the continental breakfast before the workshops began.  The Canon reps were there showing off some of their new equipment, including some nifty telephoto lens and a demo of a hdslr with a follow focus and viewfinder.  I gotta tell you, using the viewfinder/loupe attached to the back of an lcd/camera takes some getting used to, it just kinda felt awkward to me.

Canon reps pimping the latest high tech gear

 

Up close and personal with a movie ready hdslr

One of the big differences that I noticed from this seminar compared to the last one was the collective voice of the emerging photographer.  Every where I turned I saw young photographers talking about what techniques worked best for them or how they went about their marketing strategy or tips on where to get the best deals for rental studios.  Their enthusiasm and ambition was infectious and I hope to hear more from them as time goes on.  It’s these types of people that we really need to help shape the future of ASMP.

After breakfast we all met in the main banquet room for an opening presentation on licensing given by ASMP President Richard Kelly and Susan Carr.  I am a former intern of Richards and I always find his talks to be informative, on point, and entertaining.  Today was certainly no exception.  Richard brought up an interesting point (he calls it his “AHA moment) that had stuck with him since the seminar they had earlier in the year at Los Angeles, and that is the idea  that he needed to change the picture he had of himself in order to see the opportunity around him.  This stuck with me as well as too often I find myself thinking that maybe Pittsburgh isn’t the market for me or that my style isn’t conducive to a commercial environment, etc.  I think what really needs to happen is my perception needs to change for opportunities to flourish.  After Richard and Susan finished up Marketing and branding expert Colleen Wainwright gave a presentation entitled “Making People Love you Madly: Selling Yourself in a Postmodern Marketplace”.  Colleen’s presentation was insightful, entertaining, and very, very relevant.  Colleen posed a great question that kind of sets the framework for how you should be thinking:  “Are you (this person) with (this problem), I can help, here’s how.  It really is that simple.  I think clients are looking for the type of person who can be a total solutions provider, and to be able to do it easily. Really great stuff.

My first workshop of the day was Richard Harrington’s Essential Preproduction for Video: How to Budget, quote and Crew Video Projects.  Richard heads up Rhed pixel, which is a company that works in all aspects of motion production.  Let me say this, Richard really, really knows his stuff.  The workshop was concise and chock full of information that had my head spinning.  There is so much more to consider when working in the motion world, from audio capture, to editing, to script writing and final output.  The one thing that I did notice that is different from the stills side of things was that video production most often works from a work made for hire model.  In the still photography world, clients often license an image based on it’s intended usage.  Not so in the motion world.  In motion the work is generally created for the end user and that’s that.  Richard covered such line items as preproduction, script writing, rental, location, editing, etc.  All in all it was incredibly informative.

 

Lots of information going down at Strictly business 3 in Philadelphia

After Richards workshop I had Jay Kinghorn’s “The Agile Photographer: A Multimedia Partner for Business”  Jay’s presentation knocked my socks off.  He had so much forward thinking information in terms of where technology was headed that it really got my creative gears turning.  One thing he brought up that I think I might try to implement is the idea of using a QR code.  If your not familiar, a QR  code is  a specific matrix barcode (or two-dimensional code), readable by dedicated QR barcode readers and camera phones. The code consists of black modules arranged in a square pattern on a white background. The information encoded can be text, URL or other data (info taken from wikipedia).  What happens is that companies will embed these codes at the bottom of their advertising pages in magazines or on bus stop one sheets, etc. and people will scan them with their smart phones to get the embedded information.  Really really interesting.  My thought was to use them to help guerrilla promote my alice in wonderland series.  I figured I could have stickers made up with the codes on them, and then paste them up on bus stops, coffee shops, etc.  Could prove to be profitable.

Well, that’s it for now, stay tuned for part two of my trip in a day or two!

Brian

 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine