Restriction breeds creativity

I recently heard a great interview between the musician Jack White and late night host Conan O’brien.  The crux of the discussion centered around Jack’s creative process and how he often uses restriction to force creativity. You can check out the interview here.

It really got me thinking.  I’ve recently been exploring my own creative process a little closer and how it can become over complicated at times.  I thought it was best to shed some of that methodology and start a new project borrowing from Jack’s creative process.  I started a series of pictures of my children in which I only photograph them with a fixed focal length  (a fuji x100) and everything is very “of the moment”.  It’s amazing how the restriction has forced me to become more creative with my compositions, timing, etc.  I’m really enjoying the process and I hope to create a book out of it when all is said and done.  It’s good to take your process to both ends of the spectrum, just to see which compliments your style the greatest.  In this case, I feel it’s making me see more creatively, which makes for better pictures!

kaldorf010713-25 kaldorf010713-44 kaldorf011313-9 untitled-41 untitled-42